Subscribe to our Youtube Channel
Like us on Facebook
Arrests, protests mark Day 2 of ‘Rail Roko’
Published on Oct 16, 2011 7:49 am IST

Protests and arrests marked the second day of Rail Roko agitation across the Telangana region on Sunday.
The arrest of several prominent leaders including MPs and MLAs a day before had a visible impact on the protests held across the region. Protests were reported from Nalgonda, Warangal, Khammam, Mahaboobnagar and Nizamabad districts on Sunday. About 40 activists of CPI (New Democracy) including former MLA G Narasaiah were arrested when they staged protests in Karaypalli mandal of Khammam district. Another group of Telangana activists were taken into custody for squatting on rail tracks at Gandhipuram.

Several BJP activists were taken into custody for participating in the Rail Roko agiation near Alair Railway Station in Nalgonda district. Some TRS activists were arrested in Warangal for holding protests near Chintal Bridge in Warangal district. Former minsiter Jupally Krishna Rao too was arrested for participating in an agitation at Divitipally in Bhootpur mandal of Mahaboobnagar district.

Meanwhile, some miscreants have reportedly removed 150 fish plates of railway tracks in Biknoor mandal of Nizamabad district on Sunday. The Railway Police has started investigations into the incident.

The train services in the entire Telangana region remained paralysed for the second consecutive day on Sunday. South Central Railway which operated some trains on Saturday did not restore any cancelled train on Sunday. The SCR had cancelled 124 passenger trains while many others were partially cancelled, diverted or rescheduled.

Meanwhile, most of the leaders who were arrested for participating in the Rail Roko agitation were released on bail on Sunday. TRS MP Vijayashanti and eight others were released by a court on a bond of Rs 10,000 and two sureties each. Telangana Jagruthi president K Kaviath who was arrested at Moula Ali Railway Station under the Railway Protection Act also got bail. TRS MLA K Tarakarama Rao was also released on bail.

However, Karimangar MP Ponnam Prabhakar and former minister T Jeevan Reddy have been shifted to Karimnagar Central Prison on Sunday prison. The court has remanded them to 14 days of judicial custody. TRS MLA T Harish Rao too has been sent to 13-day judicial custody by a magistrate in Medak. The magistrate has posted the decision on his bail petition for Monday. Another TRS MLA Ravinder Reddy who was arrested in Nizamabad on Saturday have been sent to Sarangapur Jail for 14-days of judicial remand.

Meanwhile, several leaders including MLAs Vinay Bhaskar, K Samaiah, G Arvind Reddy and Nallala Uday were placed under house arrest for the second consecutive day on Sunday. (INN)


Ad : Teluguruchi - Learn.. Cook.. Enjoy the Tasty food