Subscribe to our Youtube Channel
Like us on Facebook
EC issues notifications for by-polls
Published on Feb 22, 2012 10:00 am IST

The Election Commission on Wednesday issued notification for the by-elections in 7 Assembly constituencies in the state.

As per the notification, by-elections will be held in Mahbubnagar, Kolhapur, Nagarkurnool, Adilabad, Kamareddy, Station Ghanapur, Kamareddy and Kovvur Assembly segment in Nellore district on March 18.

The last date for filing nominations is February 29 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 3.

The counting of votes will be done on March 21.

Besides Congress and Telugu Desam Party, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi will be a key contender for the by-elections. While the Congress and TDP would be contesting from all seats, the TRS is contesting for five Assembly segments and supporting the candidature of Nagam Janardhan Reddy in Nagarkurnool. The CPI(M) is contesting from two segments and YSR Congress party will contest from Kovur assembly segment.

The Bharatiya Janata party is yet to take a final decision on whether or not to contest the by-elections. However, the Communist party of India stated that it would not contest the by-elections. (INN)


Articles that might interest you:

Ad : Teluguruchi - Learn.. Cook.. Enjoy the Tasty food