Subscribe to our Youtube Channel
Like us on Facebook
Speakers rejects T-MPs’ resignations
Published on Nov 15, 2011 11:05 am IST

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Tuesday rejected the resignations of all 13 MPs from the Telangana region who resigned to their post demanding statehood for the region.

Besides, the Speaker has also rejected the resignation of Congress MP Mekapati Rajamohan who resigned in protest against the inclusion of former chief minister late YS Rajasekhara Reddy’s name in Central Bureau of Investigation’s case into the alleged illegal assets of Kadapa MP Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Rejecting the 13 Telangana MPs resignations, who have put in papers in support of the demand for creation of a separate state of Telangana, Meira Kumar reportedly opined that the reason for submitting the resignation was not correct. The Speaker reportedly felt that the MPs who resigned were “emotionally charged and motivated”. The Speaker has conveyed her decision to the MPs through joint secretary of parliament.

The MPs who submitted resignations on July 4 for the cause of Telangana include nine from Congress party and two each from the TDP and TRS.

On October 12, eight Congress MPs were summoned by the Speaker to seek clarification on their resignations. “I heard you and seized of the matter,” this is what the Speaker told the Congress MPs during the meeting. (INN)


Articles that might interest you:

Ad : Teluguruchi - Learn.. Cook.. Enjoy the Tasty food