Pocharam wins Banswada seat with huge majority
Published on Oct 17, 2011 7:51 am IST

Telangana Rashtra Samithi candidate Pocharam Srinivas Reddy has won the Banswada by-election with a whopping majority of 49,889 votes.

Of 1,22,872 votes polled on October 13, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy secured 83,245 votes. His nearest rival, Congress candidate polled 33,356 votes. Four other candidates could not even secure their deposits.
In 2009 general elections, as a TDP candidate Pocharam won with a majority of 26,103 votes. However, as a TRS candidate, this time he was able to win with a majority of 49,889.

According to analysts, the result was as expected. Since the Telangana sentiments are at peak, Pocharam’s victory is being attributed to what a majority of people in the region aspire for. However, Congress candidate security 33,356 came as a surprise. He was considered by many as a non-serious candidate and no stalwarts including Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana or even the local MP Madhu Yaskhi campaigned for him.

Talking to reporters after the announcement of results, Pocharam said that his victory clearly shows that people in the region are in favour of separate Telangana. He said despite having a secret alliance, the Congress and Telugu Desam Party together could not defeat him. He said the Congress candidate tried hard only to secure his deposit.

Thanking Banswada voters for electing TRS candidate, MLA K Tarakama Rao said that the results have proved that both Congress and TDP have been rejected by the people in the region. He predicted that the TRS would do a repeat of Banswada results on all seats in the region during the next elections and the Congress and TDP will have to satisfy themselves by securing deposits. (INN)


Articles that might interest you:

Ad : Teluguruchi - Learn.. Cook.. Enjoy the Tasty food